| 
  
 
 FAQ 1.
 One player makes a move, through which the other player gets 4 pieces 
              in a row. One of the four pieces is a GIPF-piece. Who may choose 
              what happens with GIPF-piece, the player who made the move or the 
              player who must remove the pieces?
 
 It is always the player who removes the 
              pieces who decides what happens with a GIPF-piece, no matter who 
              created the row.
 
 FAQ 2.
 When 4 (or more) pieces are lined up but none of the players has 
              noticed it until a few moves later, what should they do then?
 
 The taking of pieces is compulsory in the 
              same way as with checkers: you have the right to force your opponent 
              to remove a row of 4 (or more). If neither of the players notices 
              a row of 4 - or both pretend not having noticed it - then nothing 
              happens, until, of course, one of the two points it out.
 
 FAQ 3.
 A question regarding the beginning of the tournament version. Suppose 
              I have 4 GIPF-pieces in a row. I haven't played a basic piece yet. 
              I decide to take one GIPF-piece from the board. May I still bring 
              more GIPF-pieces into play after having removed a GIPF-piece?
 
 Yes. The fact that you removed a GIPF-piece 
              does not influence what you may do next.
 
 FAQ 4.
 I have 2 questions about one and the same situation. Picture this: 
              I just made a move and created two rows that must be captured. One 
              of the rows is mine, the other belongs to my opponent. My opponent's 
              row consist of 4 basic pieces, extended by one of my GIPF-pieces. 
              My 2 questions are based upon the fact that the situation on the 
              board is the result of a move I made:
 1. I have the right to remove my row first, but may I also ask my 
              opponent to go first?
 2. Can he capture my GIPF-piece?
 
 1. It is always the player who creates 
              such a situation who goes first.
 2. It is always the player who removes a row who decides what happens 
              with the GIPF-pieces in the row, regardless of their colour.
 
 FAQ 5.
 You mention in the rules, under STRATEGY, that "a turn always starts 
              by putting a piece on a dot!". You also mention this is "obligatory 
              during tournaments". Are there other fixed rules for making a move 
              when playing competition?
 
 There are, indeed. Some of them are in 
              the rules (e.g. the one you quoted), others aren't. Here are the 
              rules that must be applied when a dispute arises:
 
 
              FAQ 6.The top side of 
                a piece is the side with the furrow. Pieces must be brought into 
                play with the furrow-side up. Making a move, 
                capturing pieces and dealing with the clock must be done with 
                one and the same hand. A turn always starts 
                by putting a piece on a dot, no matter whether it will be pushed 
                onto a vacant spot or an occupied spot. As long as a piece is 
                on a dot, it may be taken back. Occupying a vacant 
                spot: as soon as a piece on a dot is pushed towards the play area, 
                the move may not be taken back.Occupying an already 
                occupied spot: as soon as a piece in the play area has been touched, 
                the move may not be taken back.Pieces on the board 
                must be moved one by one, always beginning with the furthest piece 
                in the row and ending with the piece on the dot. The players are 
                expected to leave the board in good order after their move; all 
                pieces should be clearly resting on their spots. 
 A player who obstructs his opponent's play by not applying these 
                regulations, will get a warning from a referee. A second warning 
                automatically means a penalty: his opponent will get 2 extra minutes 
                play time. A second time penalty automatically means the loss 
                of the current game.
 
 Each player starts the game with 18 pieces. Since the rules of the 
            tournament version say that a removed GIPF-piece becomes 2 single 
            pieces in the reserve, I assume that 9 is the maximum number of GIPF-pieces 
            that one can play. Is that correct?
 
 No. The one and only rule in this matter 
            is: as long as you have only played GIPF-pieces, you may continue 
            bringing GIPF-pieces into play. (See FAQ 3.)
 
 FAQ 7.
 GIPF cannot end in a tie? Why not? When both players have 4 pieces 
            left and use them to systematically form rows of 4 pieces, wouldn't 
            that be a tie?
 
 It may happen that two players start repeating the same sequence of 
            moves. It is rare but theoretically possible, even in such a way that 
            it is understandable that both players continue the sequence. In this 
            case, it would not be fair to let time determine the winner.
 If it would occur during a competitions or a tournament (i.e. when 
            playing with a clock), then the game may be interrupted as soon as 
            the same pattern occurs minimally 3 times on the board. The players 
            should call for a referee. He will stop the clock and let the players 
            start a new game (as with Shogi). The players switch colours and their 
            respective play time is what they have each left from the previous 
            game. As such, a tie is still not possible and it still prevents the 
            possibility that 2 players would come to the agreement to share a 
            point.
 
 FAQ 8.
 What happens when I have a row of 4 GIPF-pieces and I decide to leave 
            all four of them on the board? If these four pieces are still lined 
            up when it is my turn again, can I still remove one of them or should 
            I have done it the same turn as the row of four was formed?
 
 If the 4 GIPF-pieces are still lined up when 
            it is your turn again, this means that your opponent did not break 
            the row. As long as the 4 (or even more) GIPF-pieces are lined up, 
            you may choose to remove one or more of them. You may do that before 
            or after you make a move, for as long as the row remains intact.
 
 FAQ 9.
 I have two rows on the board, both with a GIPF-piece. They don't intersect. 
            I remove one row and leave the GIPF-piece on the board. Next I remove 
            the second row. May I still decide to remove the GIPF-piece of the 
            first row?
 
 If I were playing, I would have no problems with 
            it. When you want to play it strict (i.e. according to the tournament 
            rules), you are supposed to deal with the rows one by one, which means 
            that, in the case you mention, you may not remove the GIPF-piece of 
            the first row any more.
 
 FAQ 10
 What if a player takes both his own and his opponent's last GIPF from 
            the board? Would that be a tie?
 
 No. The one who removed the GIPF-pieces still 
            wins. In the spirit of the game it is clear that the other player 
            was clearly in a lost position. It makes no sense to disagree with 
            that.
 
 FAQ 11
 Recently I played GIPF with a friend and the following happened: the 
            moment I captured my friends last GIPF-piece, my flag fell. To be 
            very clear: it fell after I removed his GIPF-piece from the board 
            but before I could hit the clock. So you could say that I won before 
            I lost: I took his last GIPF-piece before I ran out of time.
 
 You win! After a player's flag has fallen, 
            he has the right to finish his move. Even if you have not started 
            to make a move yet, you may still do so. If you're playing in a tournament, 
            call a referee if this situation occurs. He will give you one minute 
            (i.e. adjust the clock) to finish your last move.
 This also counts when your opponent just played his last piece. It 
            is your turn but your flag falls: you may finish your move. And you 
            win because your opponent has no more piece to play (i.e. he can't 
            put you back in turn).
 
 FAQ 12
 Maybe a stupid question, but, nonetheless, I would like to know the 
            answer. I would like to know what happens when playing a competition 
            game and my opponent starts with a single piece instead of a GIPF-piece. 
            Do I win without even having made one move?
 
 Your opponent made an invalid move and must 
            play again. One *must* start with a GIPF-piece.
 
    
 
 |